Carnival in Jamaica

The good, the bad, the ugly, and yes it got ugly in Jamaica.

I stayed for about 6 days in Jamaica. The many parties leading up to Jamaica carnival were great. My top 3 parties Xaymaca beach lime (that was a MOVIE), Suits, and Medz. A.M. Bush is another must attend its more of a jouvert party where you can get as wotless as you want. Paint, powder, and water is the theme, this year though it wasn’t at its full potential but that won’t deter me from going to another one of there events.

Carnival Sunday the day I’ve been waiting for, I played with Xaymaca. The vibez wasn’t bad. Now the road had more space to walk less pedestrians intruding. Down fall costume fell apart literally just walk and the gems were coming off. They did repeat songs which was annoying (Famalay πŸ™„πŸ™„ over it). People need to learn costume manners and walk side ways when they have there wings on.

When they say carnival is woman thats very true there were much much more girls than guys. Like alot. Jamaica still getting there though. There was no stage to cross and all the sections were all over the place. Jamaica isn’t really soca and I believe they been doing carnival for only 6 yrs now but they sure did show out. It could of been worse like Miami. But I didn’t go with any expectations and enjoyed myself nonetheless. They gave a generous amount of liquor so that’s always a plus.

Now lunch break was crazy (the ugly). The food was good, well my fish n festival was good when I did find it. It was hard to find a fish/vegan section to eat. From what I heard they did run out of food (chicken) which is disappointing they must do better. So some people went back on the road with no food. People paid money for the full experience, to enjoy the road, the food, and the liquor. So to miss out on any part us not acceptable.

They did have a makeup tent which was nice touch. You got to freshen up and go back on the road. They were to have a massage station which no one could find. And there was to be a repair tent/person but they never showed or atleast no one couldn’t find them either. They did have many areas to take nice pictures.

Back on the road we went for the last lap. Vibes was still pumping liquor was still flowing and they are very generous with the liquor. More of the same songs which was expected. But overall a good time. The last stop was dinner and that was a mess. No one could of told me where the fish/vegan line was then come to find out they ran out of that. Lines were ridiculous. I got frustrated and just went and got pasta. They played good music but you can tell alot of people was over it.

Overall I give my experience an 8 out of 10. Would I do it again yeah. I just don’t think I’ll purchase a full on costume. But if it’s your first time I would reccomend to do the whole thing. Experience the parties leading up to carnival, get a costume, and a definite must is Xaymaca beach lime to end it off. If you can spend an extra day do so.

Go to the beach, visit Devon’s House (patties and icecream amazing), see the Bob Marley museum, or even visit Usain Bolt restaurant just to name a few activities. Jamaica carnival is something to experience so put it on your bucket list to do.

5 thoughts on “Carnival in Jamaica

  1. Good to know. πŸ™‚ I go to Jamaica 2 to 3 times a year and still haven’t been to the carnival.
    You look fab in your costume by the way. X

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.